The Voyageur Classic Canadian Fiction 7-Book Bundle - Dundurn

The Voyageur Classic Canadian Fiction 7-Book Bundle

All Else Is Folly / Pauline Johnson / The Town Below / Self Condemned / Storm Below / The Yellow Briar / Maria Chapdelaine

Published June 2014

$ 44.99


Voyageur Classics is a series of special new versions of Canadian classics, with added material and special introductions by noted experts. This bundle contains some of the greatest Canadian fiction, including influential literature from Quebec (Maria Chapdelaine, The Town Below), a collection of the best of the legendary Pauline Johnson, Peregrine Acland’s gripping Great War novel All Else is Folly, a classic tale of Irish immigration (The Yellow Briar), and great novels from the renowned Hugh Garner (The Storm Below) and Wyndham Lewis (Self Condemned).

Any reader with an interest not only in Canadian literature, but in great fiction in general, will find this collection of great works an essential addition to their collection.


  • All Else Is Folly
  • Pauline Johnson
  • The Town Below
  • Self Condemned
  • Storm Below
  • The Yellow Briar
  • Maria Chapdelaine


Peregrine Acland

Peregrine Acland (1891–1963) joined the Canadian Army in 1914 at the outbreak of the First World War and quickly rose to the rank of an officer. He took part in the great battles of the Somme, which he describes vividly in All Else Is Folly.

Pauline Johnson

Pauline Johnson (1861–1913) was Canada’s first native author. Her most famous collection of verse, Flint and Feather went into many printings and was successfully followed by two volumes of short stories, The Moccasin Maker and Legends of Vancouver.

Roger Lemelin

Roger Lemelin (1919–1992) was born in working-class Quebec City. He published eight novels and numerous short stories and essays and won several awards for his writing. Lemelin adapted his second novel, Les Plouffe, into the popular CBC-TV show The Plouffe Family, which ran from 1953 to 1959 in French and English.

Hugh Garner

Hugh Garner (1913-1979) immigrated to Canada in 1919, settling in Toronto. His most famous novel is Cabbagetown, released in its entirety in 1968. In 1963 he won the Governor General's Award for Hugh Garner's Best Stories.

Patrick Slater

Patrick Slater was the pseudonym of John Mitchell (1880-1951), a Toronto lawyer.

Louis Hemon

Louis Hemon was born in 1880 and raised in Paris, where he qualified for the French Colonial Service. Unwilling to accept a posting to Africa, Hemon embarked on a career as a sports writer and moved to London. He sailed for Quebec in 1911 settling initially in Montreal. He wrote Maria Chapdelaine during his time working at a farm in the Lac Saint-Jean region and died when he was struck by a train at Chapleau, Ontario in 1913.

Wyndham Lewis

Wyndham Lewis (1882–1957) was born on his father's yacht off Nova Scotia but grew up in England. The author of many novels, including The Revenge for Love, The Apes of God, and Tarr, he was associated with T.S. Eliot and Ezra Pund. Besides being a leading figure of the Modernist movement in English literature, Lewis was also a much-praised artist whose portraits of T.S. Eliot now hangs in the Durban Art Gallery in South Africa.

Ford Madox Ford

Ford Madox Ford, born Ford Hermann Hueffer, was an English novelist, poet, critic and editor whose journals, The English Review and The Transatlantic Review, were instrumental in the development of early 20th-century English literature.

Brian Busby

Brian Busby is a literary historian, independent scholar, and writer. He has written two books: Character Parts and A Gentleman of Pleasure. He is also the editor of In Flanders Fields and Other Poems of the First World War and War Poems.

Michael Gnarowski

Michael Gnarowski has written for Encyclopedia Americana, The Canadian Encyclopedia, The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Biography, and the Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry. Gnarowski is professor emeritus at Carleton University in Ottawa.

Paul Stuewe

Paul Stuewe is the author of The Storms Below: The Turbulent Life and Times of Hugh Garner, which was shortlisted for the City of Toronto Book Award in 1988, and Hugh Garner and His Works (1986). Currently, he is an associate professor of English at Green Mountain College in Vermont.

Allan Pero

Allan Pero is an associate professor in the Department of English at the University of Western Ontario. He has published papers primarily on modern British literature. Pero lives in London, Ontario.

Book Details

June 2014
2048 pp