The Roma Plot

Overview

Max O’Brien is in a race against time … and someone else’s past is catching up with him.

Max may be a professional con man, but that doesn’t mean you can’t count on him in a bind. So when he hears that his old friend Kevin Dandurand is a wanted man over a seemingly racially motivated killing spree, he heads to Bucharest to try to make sense of what looks like an impossible situation.

The buried truths he uncovers reach back to WWII, the Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp, and an entanglement between a Roma man and a German woman whose echoes pursue O’Brien and Dandurand into the present day. But if they can’t escape the long shadows of the past, the two will find their present cut all too short.

In the vein of Frederick Forsyth, Martin Cruz Smith, and Harlan Coben, this is a tight-wound thriller where there’s no time to lose.

About the Authors

Mario Bolduc

Posted by Kendra on September 2, 2015
Mario Bolduc photo

Mario Bolduc

Screenwriter and director Mario Bolduc has been working in cinema and television for nearly two decades. The Kashmir Trap, his first novel featuring Max O’Brien, was published in French in 2005. Mario lives in Montreal, Quebec.

Jacob Homel

Posted by Kendra on December 6, 2014

Jacob Homel

Born in Montreal, Jacob has translated or collaborated in the translation of a number of works, including Hysteric, The Last Genêt, and The Weariness of the Self. In 2012, he won the JI Segal Translation Prize for his translation of A Pinch of Time. He splits his time between Montreal and Asia.